My 5 Favorite Instagram Photos and Why

If you’re reading this and you personally know me, you must be thinking, “Oh here goes a list of her favorite fangirling / food photos…” especially after reading the title. Well, nope! You won’t see my David Cook photos here (but you can find one here, ha!); you won’t see any of the photos I took during that one time I got to see Maria Sharapova, Serena Williams, Andy Murray, Gael Monfils, and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga play live; you won’t see a plethora of food photos (just two!). What you will see are these five photos I consider my favorites (by far) because of the stories, anecdotes and memories behind them.

I’ll start with the most recent one then I’m taking you to a trip down memory lane!


The Subject Matter Expert Team

This is my work family. I know, I know, “work family” sounds so cliche. But it’s true. This is the Subject Matter Expert Team. We support, train and coach the frontliners that we have on the floor.

SME

The past three months have been exceptional for the SME team. Opportunities of stepping up and taking on the leadership role came knocking at our doors. Some of us were quick to open up their doors to let it in; some of us took too long, it got bored and left, and so we had to wait for the next one to come along. I personally had to stand outside my door, like a kid waiting for the ice cream truck! Man, was it worth all the wait! Most of the people in this photo, including myself, have already stepped up… and I know that the rest of the family will follow suit!

Pork Jamonado

My grandma makes Pork Jamonado so flavorful by simmering the meat in 50% broth and 50% pineapple juice. She will then proceed by adding tinned crushed pineapples and sausages in and balancing the flavors out with generous tablespoons of light brown sugar.

Jamonado

I tried to recreate her recipe one afternoon, but since we had fresh pineapples lying around, I hacked one of them in half, scooped out the flesh and used it instead of tinned crushed pineapples, and then…. ta-da!!!!! Makeshift bowl!!!!!

Everytime I make something, my goal is to make it as Instagrammable as possible… ’cause why exert all the effort, right!? I was so happy when I posted this because of all the positive feedback, UNTIL MY MOM CALLED ME OUT ON FACEBOOK. On Facebook! SAVAGE! She was furious about me snipping off her plants! I was quick to delete it but not before some of my friends have seen it. Until now, I still haven’t lived it down.

Christmas Eve Mass

Normally, I would be grumpy and nasty because this was the first time we got to the church late. Of course, I would have loved to sit down comfortably inside the church, with electric fans, safe from mosquitoes… but this sight took my breath away, and so standing outside was not that bad after all.

church

This is the St. Clement Parish Church located at the heart of Angono, Rizal. I grew up going to this church and I still can’t imagine myself hearing mass anywhere else. Is that weird? There’s a chapel literally a few steps away from my house, and I still prefer going to this one. I can also imagine myself getting married here. Someday.

Glazed Calamansi Loaf

So this is the first EVER cake that I made. YAAAYYY! I literally jumped out for joy and victory-danced around the kitchen after slicing and tasting this Glazed Calamansi Loaf.

calamansi loaf

I got the inspiration from Sorted Food’s Gin & Tonic Cake and here’s the recipe for you!

INGREDIENTS:

150 g. softened butter
150 g. sugar
2 eggs
180 g. cake flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
60 ml calamansi soda (or lemon soda)
pinch of salt
zest of 10 calamansi (or 1 lemon)
juice of 10 calamansi (or 1 lemon)

PROCEDURE:

Grease and flour a medium-sized loaf tin.
Sift the flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
Beat the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy before adding in the eggs one at a time.
Add the calamansi juice, vanilla extract and calamansi zest.
Fold in the flour mixture.
Fold in the bubbly soda at the last minute before popping it in the oven at 160 degrees for 35-40 mins.

For the glaze, just combine calamansi juice and confectioner’s sugar together until you get the consistency you desire.

Scrap Box

Some people have scrap books, but I don’t have time for that! I have a scrap box. Haha!

bits and bobs

I have a box full of mementos and random bits and bobs that I don’t have room for. It’s mostly filled with old photos from high school, cards, tickets and tags. Let’s face it, we do get stressed out almost everyday: with work, with the worst traffic, with complaints and constant whining of people around you. It’s great to unwind from time to time, pause, look back and reminisce about the stories behind each and every item in your scrap box.

Pretty much like this post! I gave myself an ample time to sort through my Instagram profile and hand pick 5 photos that mean so much to me. It’s quite hard as there are some other memorable photos, too. But we make memories everyday, and maybe this time next year, I will be posting another Instagram round-up!

What is the most memorable experience that you have shared on social media? Tell me about it!

Thank you for reading this post! Drop me a line or two!

